Below is an example of an email I could send to a past co-worker or employer as I start my job search.

Hello John,

I hope this email finds you well! I have recently graduated from Full Sail University with a Bachelor’s degree in Media Communications. The past 20 months have taught me more than I hoped and imagined. It was an intense immersion into all aspects of media such as graphic design, new media journalism, web design, media psychology, and public relations . I have learned several aspects of media strategy and design such as social media, content marketing, design aesthetics and visual storytelling.

While in school, I had the privilege to work in outside projects as a freelancer – including branding for The Meatball Shoppe, user-friendly web strategy and design for My VIP Tour and My Unicorn Event, and social media marketing, web/graphic design and newsletters for Glasstone Group. You can see these works and more by going to my portfolio site: http://www.wedesignseven.com.

My ideal job function would be media strategist and designer in a local agency. I would be the one responsible for the creative strategies and direction of advertising and marketing materials and campaigns. This would include social media, content marketing, branding, graphic design, and web design services, all while ensuring the quality of creative content for new-business and client pitches.  I would help create innovative ideas that tie web, mobile, email, search social and traditional advertising together to provide solutions based on consumer insight and data.

I have done some research and I found a few places that I would be interested in working at: 1)Purple, Rock, Scissors, 2) Think Creative, 3) Push. All of these 3 are award-winning agencies whose missions are aligned with mine which is to create relevant, impactful, and out-of-the-box digital strategies.

I would really appreciate any career guidance, referrals, or letters of introduction. Also, if you have any contacts who you think might be able to help me with my job search, I would greatly appreciate it if you could put me in touch with them.  I have attached my resume for you to give to any contacts.

Thank you so much! Please let me know if I can return the favor; I hope we can catch up in person soon.

Best,

Juliana Neves

Jgbneves@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

